Writer’s Dilemma


I’ve chosen this title because after I wrote this I was faced with a dilemma. I used the following prompts:
https://pensitivity101.wordpress.com/2024/04/27/three-things-challenge-m677/
where the words given were:
BEAUTY
ELEGANT
STYLE
(this was the first prompt I read)
https://lindaghill.com/2024/04/26/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-april-27-2024/
where the prompt given was “show.”
Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing (typos can be fixed), and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.
(this was the THIRD prompt I read)
and
https://sammiscribbles.wordpress.com/2024/04/27/weekend-writing-prompt-361-pilgrimage/
where the challenge was to write something in exactly 93 words.
(this was the SECOND prompt I read)

With those words floating around my brain, I started typing. Then I saw that I’d exceeded 93 words.
I had to choose between editing my story to fit the word count, which would have been cheating,
or not publishing this at all, hence the dilemma.
As you can see, I decided to post it. Otherwise, I’d be cheating MYSELF!

It was a show of unexpected beauty, elegance, and style, seldom seen when the entrants are all
clowns. But this time their makeup was actually attractive rather than comical, which went against
all circus traditions, but nobody complained, in fact every night and matinee was completely sold
out, and those who had planned this change of pace clown show were thrilled at its success, and hoped
for the same results at their upcoming cat show, which would feature not pedigree pussycats but alley cats.
They expected most of the same audience to make a pilgrimage to that show in Rose Valley.
~*~*~*~

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Dilemma

Leave a comment